Assembly candidates talk about ballot measures

Three candidates are running for two seats on the Juneau Assembly in next week’s municipal election.

Loren Jones and Paul Nowlin are competing for the District One seat, currently held by David Stone, who has reached his term limit and cannot run for re-election.

Jerry Nankervis is the only candidate for the District Two seat being vacated by Ruth Danner, who has decided not to run again.

This is Loren Jones’ second try for the Assembly. Last year he lost to Carlton Smith by 73 votes.

Jones retired from the State of Alaska Department of Health and Social Services in 2003, after 30 years. He has served on the board of the city-owned Bartlett Regional Hospital, as well as other boards, which he says have taught him the value of listening, asking good questions and working together.

Paul Nowlin is an office manager at Petro Marine. He says he’s running for the Assembly because he wants to give back to the community.

Jerry Nankervis retired last year from the Juneau Police Department, where he reached the rank of captain. He says his 24 years at JPD are equivalent to 24 years of community service.

The candidates participated in the recent League of Women Voters Forum, where they were asked how they will vote on the upcoming sales tax and bond measures.

One measure calls for an extension of the city’s temporary 1 percent sales tax for five years to pay for more than $34 million in capital improvement projects. The other measure is nearly $25 million in bond sales for a list of additional projects, including deferred maintenance of various city facilities.

The Juneau Chamber of Commerce is recommending a no vote.

While Jones said he supports and will vote for the measures, he understands the chamber’s concern about paying for deferred maintenance in bond issues.

Nowlin said he plans to vote no on the sales and bond packages.

Nankervis said he still isn’t sure how he would vote, but he also understands people’s concern over the maintenance bonds.

The municipal election is Tuesday, Oct. 2.

Recent headlines