CBJ election roundup

Voters rejected a proposed tax on plastic shopping bags, as well as a Juneau Assembly proposal to opt out of state financial disclosure reporting rules for public officials. Two school bond measures passed, as did an extension of the CBJ’s temporary three-percent sales tax.

Jesse Kiehl and Randy Wanamaker won seats on the CBJ Assembly. A third race is too close to call, with Carlton Smith holding a 53 vote lead over Loren Jones for an area wide seat, and Geny Del Rosario in distant third place.

Click here for unofficial results from the CBJ website.

To read our story on the assembly races, click here.

To read about the school board races, click here.

For more on Propositions 1 and 5, click here.

And for more on the sales tax and school bond initiatives, click here.

Recent headlines