Borthwick, Morton, Johnson appointed to Bartlett board

Bartlett Regional Hospital entryway

Bartlett Regional Hospital. Photo by Lisa Phu/KTOO.

The Juneau Assembly has appointed Mary Borthwick, Lauree Morton and Mark Johnson to the Bartlett Regional Hospital Board of Directors.

Borthwick and Morton were reappointed, while Johnson replaces outgoing member Reed Reynolds, who served the maximum three consecutive terms on the hospital board.

Morton is Executive Director of the Alaska Council on Domestic Violence and Sexual Assault. Borthwick is a retired teacher. Johnson retired as Chief of Emergency Medical Services for the state Division of Public Health in 2004.

The city-owned hospital is currently seeking a new chief executive officer. Previous CEO Chris Harff lasted just a year before resigning along with Bartlett’s CFO and Human Resources Director following an investigation into personnel issues at the hospital.

All of the board members were appointed to two-year terms beginning January 1st.

The Assembly met Thursday night to interview eight candidates for the three open seats.

Recent headlines