Troll set to be sworn in to CBJ Assembly

Kate Troll-2 2013 municipal election night

Kate Troll, election night 2013. Photo by Casey Kelly/KTOO.

Kate Troll will be sworn-in to the Juneau Assembly tonight.

Troll two weeks ago won the only contested race in this year’s municipal election, besting Bill Peters for an area-wide seat. Assemblyman Johan Dybdahl currently holds that office. He’s served the maximum three consecutive terms on the Assembly and will be recognized for his service tonight before Troll’s swearing-in.

Assembly members Mary Becker and Karen Crane will be sworn in for their second terms on the Assembly. Both ran unopposed.

Also tonight, the Assembly will consider an ordinance authorizing the city manager to negotiate a lease for a communications tower at Eaglecrest Ski Area.

Funding ordinances include appropriations for the Empty Chair memorial, a CBJ economic development plan, and legal services for the Juneau School District and Bartlett Regional Hospital. The district and BRH previously hired outside counsel to provide legal services. If the ordinance passes, they will simply give the money to the CBJ Law Department, which would then hire an additional attorney to handle the increased workload. The move is expected to save the city money overall.

The Assembly tonight will also decide whether to accept an appeal of a recent Planning Commission decision to deny a zone change to developer Richard Harris. He’s making his third attempt to re-zone his Atlin Drive property from residential to Light Commercial. The Planning Commission most recently turned down his zoning request last month.

The meeting starts at 7 p.m. in City Hall Assembly Chambers. It will be broadcast live on KTOO-FM.

Recent headlines