CCFR crew recognized for heroism at Gastineau Apartments fire

By January 28, 2013Community

(Photo by Heather Bryant/KTOO)

Capital City Fire and Rescue on Saturday honored its crew for their work in 2012.

At the annual CCFR banquet, awards went to several firefighters and dispatchers for their work the night of the Gastineau Apartment fire in downtown Juneau.

A citation for performance under extreme conditions at the fire, including the ladder rescue of a civilian, went to:  Brent Clancy, Jessie Echave, Travis Larson, PK (sic), John Adams, Todd Cameron, Nathan Young, and Shaun Rhea.

“These firefighters and officers all performed heroically under extreme fire conditions,” said Rich Etheridge, CCFR Fire Chief.

(Photo by Greg Culley)

The Dispatch Unit also was honored for its professionalism the night of the fire.  Tonya Kurtz, Jason Van Sickle, Erann Kalwar, Celeste Lopez, Christy Smith, Joe Fox, and Lisa Haffner were recognized for their calm, cool demeanor, resourcefulness and attention to detail as they provided information to the rescue teams during the Nov. 5th fire that displaced about 50 tenants.

Other CCFR awards included EMS Providers of the Year, which went to EMT volunteer Amanda Carlson, and career paramedic Bryon Young. Paramedic Joe Mishler is Instructor of the Year for 2012.

Lynn Canal District Captain is Ken Lawrenson is Volunteer CCFR Officer of the Year.   Captain and Paramedic Chad Cameron is Career Officer of the Year, while Firefighter of the Year is Noah Jenkins.  Kim Mahar is Special Teams Member of the Year and Jessie Echave is Rookie of the Year.

“Every member of our department performs wonderfully,” Etheridge said. “These were the people that were recognized by their peers as standing out and doing that little bit extra that makes Capital City Fire and Rescue a great place to work.”

Shaun Rhea received the Chief’s Award of Excellence.



Recent headlines