Fabe selected Chief Justice; Christen sworn into 9th Circuit

Alaska Supreme Court Justice Dana Fabe has been selected by her peers as chief justice.

Fabe follows Chief Justice Walter L. Carpeneti, of Juneau, whose three-year term expires June 30th.

She was the first woman appointed to the state Supreme Court and has served twice as Chief Justice. A justice may serve more than one three-year term as Chief, but not consecutive terms. Justice Jay Rabinowitz served four terms as head of the court.

The Chief Justice is administrative head of the judicial branch of government, provides policy direction for all courts statewide, and appoints presiding judges for all judicial districts.

The Chief Justice is selected from among the Supreme Court justices by majority vote.

Christen takes oath of office
Former Alaska Supreme Court Justice Morgan Christen has been seated on the U.S. Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals. Christen was sworn into office on Wednesday by Senior Circuit Court Judge Andrew Kleinfeld, also an Alaskan.

She was nominated a year ago by President Obama to fill the seat left vacant by Kleinfeld’s retirement. The U.S. Senate confirmed Christen’s nomination in December.

The Ninth Circuit Court is headquartered in San Francisco and has jurisdiction over nine U.S. district courts, including Alaska.

Recent headlines