Eaglecrest plans “soft opening;” still time to vote in Ski Town Throwdown

snow has been made on runs accessed by the Porcupine chairlife as well as                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                 Making snow at Eaglecrest                                                                                                                                                         > aking snow at Eaglecrest

Snow is being made whenever possible on the lower mountain at Eaglecrest. Photo by Sarah Cannard. Courtesy Eaglecrest Ski Area.

Eaglecrest Ski Area will open for the season on Saturday.

It will be a limited opening with only the Porcupine chair spinning, but a chance to put gear in lockers, get season pass photos taken, and make a few shake-down turns.

The rental shop, grill, and Mountain Lift Coffee will be open, but the Snow Bus will not be running.

Snowsports School Director Jeffra Clough says a lot more snow is needed on the rest of the mountain.

“Staff has been up monitoring it, but Mother Nature just hasn’t given us quite enough yet. We’re able to make a little bit more snow on the bottom of Ptarmigan but we just need Mother Nature to help us fill in.  There’s a lot of gullies and open areas and rocks and it’s just not a safe environment yet, but we’re excited to have the porcupine chair open,” Clough says.

There’s plenty of precedent for a so-called soft opening, including last year when the city-owned ski area opened only the Porcupine area on the first Saturday of December.  That’s the day planned in the city budget.

Porcupine Lift will operate on Saturday from 9 a.m. to 3 p.m.

Meanwhile, voting is still underway in the Final 4 round of the Ski Town Throwdown.

Eaglecrest is paired against Mount Bohemia, a small ski area in Michigan’s Upper Peninsula.

Both mountains got more votes in their respective regions in Powder Magazine’s March Madness-style popularity contest.

You can vote Tuesday until 8 p.m. Alaska time on Powder Magazine’s Facebook page.


Recent headlines

  • Computer problems for some - extended coffee break for others: Some employees of the Dept. of Commerce, Community and Economic Development, Financial Services Division in the State Office Building in Juneau drink coffee near their disabled computers March 22, 2017. The workers, who chose to not be identified, said that some computers were working while others were not as a result of a statewide technical problem within the state's system. (Photo by Skip Gray/360 North)

    Software update locks thousands of state workers out of computers

    Roughly 6,000 state workers were unable to log in to their computers, affecting two in five executive branch workers.
  • The top of the Raven Shark totem pole lies in Totem Hall at Sitka National Historical Park. (Photo by Emily Russell/KCAW)

    After 30 years, Raven Shark pole back in Sitka

    The totem pole is an icon of the Pacific Northwest. The carved art form showcases clan stories and family crests in museums around the world. After more than 30 years in the Anchorage Museum, a century-old pole from Southeast has made it back to Sitka, where curators are prepping a permanent home.
  • Longtime leader Rosita Worl to leave Sealaska board

    One of the Sealaska regional Native corporation’s longest-serving leaders is stepping down. Rosita Worl says she will not run for another term after 30 years on the board.
  • U.S. Sen. Lisa Murkowski, R-Alaska, speaks to reporters in one of the Senate’s more ornate rooms. (Photo by Liz Ruskin/Alaska Public Media)

    Murkowski at odds with Trump’s call to end NEA funding

    President Donald Trump’s budget outline calls for eliminating funding for the National Endowment for the Arts. The NEA has been a frequent target of Republicans, but U.S. Sen. Lisa Murkowski supports the endowment, and Tuesday she won the 2017 Congressional Arts Leadership Award.