Since 2010, Juneau poets have been taking the stage at open mics and poetry slams hosted by the Woosh Kinaadeiyi arts non-profit organization. Here’s an audio postcard from this year’s grand slam event on Friday, Oct. 18th. Among a multitude of volunteers and talented performers, we’ll hear voices from poets Ziggy, Jacqueline Boucher, Nathan Block, Woosh Kinaadeiyi president and co-founder Christy Namee Eriksen, and co-host Dee Jay Derego.

Open mics and poetry slams happen every third Friday at 6:30 p.m. Locations vary.

Recent headlines

  • Arctic Chinook exercise concludes

    Coast Guard wraps up Arctic exercises

    The series of simulated drills was known as the Arctic Chinook exercise and wrapped Thursday morning in Kotzebue, according to a Coast Guard press release.
  • Bacteria that causes botulism.

    Science and cooking collide to fight botulism

    Scientists are trying to learn how to prevent botulism in seal oil, a main ingredient in many traditional Alaska Native foods.
  • Earthquake Simulator

    Earthquake simulator will shake up Juneau

    Alaska's earthquake simulator will visit Wednesday, Aug. 31, to Thursday, Sept. 1, in downtown Juneau giving residents some emergency preparedness practice at an event that promises to shake, rattle and roll.
  • Dan DeBartolo is one of four candidates running for the Juneau School Board. (Courtesy of Dan DeBartolo)

    School board candidate juggles race and Facebook

    The creator of the Facebook page the Juneau Community Collective is running for public office and that created a problem. He had to figure out how to continue moderating political comments on the page without falling into a conflict of interest.


Playing Now: