The Alaska State Capitol Building. (Photo by Heather Bryant/KTOO)

It’s Election Day. Polls open at 7 a.m. and will close at 8 p.m.

The presidential race is the big draw this year. But in Alaska voters also will determine the make-up of the 2013-2014 state Legislature, as 59 of the state’s 60 legislative seats are on the ballot.

The only exception is Juneau Senator Dennis Egan’s Senate District P seat. Capital City Representatives Beth Kerttula and Cathy Munoz are unopposed.

Alaska’s U.S. House seat and two propositions also appear on this year’s ballot.

Juneau has thirteen polling places. Seven of those are in House District 31, which includes the Mendenhall Valley and north end of Juneau’s road system. Another six are in House District 32, which includes downtown Juneau and Douglas Island.

District 32 also now includes Petersburg, Skagway, Gustavus and Tenakee Springs thanks to the state’s once a decade redistricting process. Previously Juneau had two House districts all to itself.

The Division of Elections is sponsoring an Election Central tonight in Juneau at the Baranof Hotel’s Treadwell Room. The first results are expected at about 9 p.m.

KTOO will provide both national and statewide results tonight on our airwaves and online. Tune in to KTOO-FM starting at 4 p.m. for NPR’s election coverage. Then at 9 p.m. stay with KTOO for APRN’s coverage of statewide races. will feature links to NPR’s national results, as well as live-blog analysis of Alaska races from former APRN Juneau correspondent Dave Donaldson, as well as CoastAlaska’s Ed Schoenfeld and Gavel Alaska’s Jeremy Hsieh.

Recent headlines

  • stret_still

    Watch: Red Carpet Concert with Sophia Street

    Anchorage-based singer-songwriter Sophia Street and James Goodreau dropped into KTOO’s arts room to play a Red Carpet Concert.
  • A passenger jet flies past the FAA control tower at Washington's Ronald Reagan National Airport. Cliff Owen/AP

    FAA break-up bill clears U.S. House committee

    A bill to break up the FAA and privatize the nation’s air traffic controllers cleared the Transportation Committee in the U.S. House Thursday night.
  • Juneau residents will vote for three assembly seats and two school board members in the October 7 election. (Photo by Heather Bryant/KTOO)

    Jamie Bursell appointed to open Juneau Assembly seat

    "Her focus on education, her focus on examining our city budget at a really deep level, not just a broad stroke policy level, but getting into the line items – I think that’s a really valuable for assembly members to go after the budget work," said Deputy Mayor Jesse Kiehl.
  • Rep. Les Gara, D-Anchorage, has introduced a new business tax. (Photo by Skip Gray/360 North)

    Representative seeks new business tax

    Rep. Les Gara wants to make sure state budget cuts don’t fall too heavily on working-class and low-income people. Instead, he wants a new business tax.


Playing Now: